Jump to content
Brewer Fanatic

OBP Question


rickh150
If Billy Hall goes 1-4 with a single, but acually gets on base a second time because of an error, is his OBP .250 or .500 for the night? Does he get credit for being on base, even though he got on base once via error?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Recommended Posts

Yeah, except whether something is an error or not is sometime pretty arbitrary. I'd rather they include errors, but it's not like it would make much difference.

 

BTW, if errors were included the figure for the example would be .400 not .500. On base twice in 5 plate appearances.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I believe he meant that in the 4 plate appearances, he gets one single, get on by error, and gets out twice...in which case it would be .500.

If I had Braun's pee in my fridge I'd tell everybody.

~Nottso

Link to comment
Share on other sites

this is correct, an error still counts as an AB, he had both 4 ABs and 4 PAs.

 

Yikes, all this time I thought an error did not count as an "at bat". That's embarrassing considering how much of my 48 years has been spent watching baseball. http://forum.brewerfan.net/images/smilies/embarassed.gif

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, reaching via an error uses an at bat and a plate appearance. It's treated as an out, and it hurts a player's batting average, on base percentage, and slugging percentage.

That’s the only thing Chicago’s good for: to tell people where Wisconsin is.

[align=right]-- Sigmund Snopek[/align]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Someone should tell Davey that this is the case. On Brewers live tonight he answered that it "definitely" does help the OBP because he reached base.

 

The two kinda laughed...not really sure at what, Craig may have known that he was wrong, but didn't say anything.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

reaching base via Catcher's interference does not count as an at-bat, I believe. But I do believe you calculate Catcher's interference into the equation (although it so rarely happens you don't really notice this).

 

Now, keep in mind, they may have changed the rule on this. But I believe at one time that CI was included.

- - - - - - - - -

P.I.T.C.H. LEAGUE CHAMPION 1989, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2006, 2007, 2011 (finally won another one)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The Twins Daily Caretaker Fund
The Brewer Fanatic Caretaker Fund

You all care about this site. The next step is caring for it. We’re asking you to caretake this site so it can remain the premiere Brewers community on the internet. Included with caretaking is ad-free browsing of Brewer Fanatic.

×
×
  • Create New...